Good Reality TV Alert

So there is a new show premiering tonight on Lifetime called “One Born Every Minute” . It chronicles life in the maternity ward at Riverside Methodist Hospital in Columbus, OH. This is exciting to me because that is where I delivered Roland and I will deliver this baby there as well. Actually my OB is part of a (all female) practice called Women’s Physicians and they are located inside Riverside and only deliver at Riverside. At my first appointment this pregnancy there were flyers in the exam rooms advertising for mommas to be a part of the series. I was not far enough along in my pregnancy to qualify… lucky for you guys as I am sure no one wants to see me deliver anything more than a pizza. I am anxious to see how deliveries there are protrayed. Curt and I LOVED our birthing experience. I read about so many negative hospital experiences filled with unnecessary interventions and scare tactics and I have to say I am so fortunate to have had such a positive experience. ¬†Riverside delivers a very high number of babies so some people tried to warn me it would feel like a “baby factory” there compared to the smaller hospitals in the suburbs. Grant it I have nothing else to compare it to, but we didn’t feel that way at all. I love my OB and thankfully she was there for my delivery and the rest of the hospital stay was as personal as I think it could have been. They had lax visiting hours and our son never left our side except for a couple very short exceptions. It was awesome. Anyway, with that being said I will be interested to see how things play out on the show.

In other news I finally have a noteworthy baby bump so I will have to get some pictures of it to post here soon. I hope everyone is surviving the snowpocolypse or whatever they are calling it. We have some ice here but overall nothing too bad.

Update: Just found out there is a twitter party tomorrow regarding the show. I have never participated in one before but may give it a try. If anyone is interested you can find info on it here.

Leave a Reply

