Meet My Little Prince: Roland Dean

I promised I would introduce the absolute love of my life and here he is:

Roland Dean

Don’t those big brown eyes just melt your heart? This is Roland Dean, born July 24, 2008. He is my pride and joy and the reason I am bound and determined to get better physically. I want to run and jump and play with him!

So he was a pretty cute baby too.

Roland Dean

This photo courtesy of Kristin Frost Photography

And you guys will probably be sick of hearing about him on this blog. On the eve of his first birthday I wrote a journal entry to him that sums up how I feel about my son. It is all still so true today so I want to share it here:

July 23, 2009

My Dear Sweet Roland,
You are sleeping right now and tomorrow when you wake up it will be your very first birthday. I am tearing up as I write this remembering all the moments that have made this past year the best of my life and knowing we will never have that time together again. None the less I am overjoyed at the same time. You are my own flesh. I see myself in your eyes, your nose, your already independent attitude. I cherish each day we spend together, each laugh we share, each kiss I place on your forehead. Life is so fulfilling with you in it. You are the reason I get out of bed, keep striving through illness and physical pain. You are the reason I never give up, I keep pressing on, I fight for a better tomorrow. Sweet Roland, you are every breathe I take, every smile I wear, every moment of joy in my heart. I love you, I love you, I love you. My precious child as you lie sleeping in your crib let your dreams be made of my everlasting, always protecting, unconditional love. Thank you for a year that was filled with joy, laughter, tears, growth…I never could have imagined I would learn so much from someone so small.

I love you Roland and I am so excited to share you with all my new friends!

One thought on “Meet My Little Prince: Roland Dean

Leave a Reply

