I Survived Another Year on Borrowed Time

So let’s just get the crazy out in the open. I have long loved Nirvana and Kurt Cobain and my obsession fascination with Kurt lead me to be intrigued by the multiple deaths of 27-year-old major musical/artistic forces. You know them…Jim Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, and of course…Kurt Cobain. I always felt I identified with a small piece of these troubled artists and in my crazy, neurotic mind I started to wonder if I too would meet such an ill-timed fate. As my 28th birthday approached I felt a growing sense of gloom in my soul. My 27th year was coming to a close and surely something would happen to keep me from ever turning 28. Finally the eve of my birthday arrived and I reluctantly went to bed that night after telling my family and friends I loved them and making my peace with God. I barely slept and could not believe what happened when I finally got out of bed the next morning. Nothing. Absolutely nothing happened. I went about my day as usual and had a lovely birthday celebration with my husband and best friend. Shew! The thing is I know why nothing ever happened that day (besides the fact I don’t mainline hardcore drugs)…  I. have. a. purpose. I do, I really really do. And you know what? So do you. Seriously! If we are all just sequences of random proteins floating around in a meaningless cosmic galaxy, shoot me now!  So what do I want 2010 to be about for me? Pursuing my purpose. I think I know the general idea of what it is. You know those nagging thoughts in the back of your mind that you could be doing more with your life. The feeling of loving something and feeling like you should be sharing it? The degree you know you should finish, the community program you feel drawn to volunteer with. Whatever it is, this year is about not hiding behind fear and self-doubt. This new year, a new decade , is about putting myself out there and feeling vulnerable…naked. I know I’m not the only one on this quest this year so I will gladly share my set backs and triumphs and hope to learn from yours as well.

ABOUT THIS BLOG

I have wanted to blog for a couple years now. I have an entire list of mommy blogs I stalk read and have always liked the idea of documenting the little moments in life. You can expect to see lots of changes to the site for a while as I work at getting things just so. It was hard to click that “publish” button having such a stripped down site but I said I’d post for the first time today. So I did. The rest will look less generic with time. At least the pic in my header is of the city I live in. As for all those blogs I stalk read, I’ll start showing you some love on my blog roll soon (when I figure out how).

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “I Survived Another Year on Borrowed Time

  1. Forever 27… by far my favorite picture to ever have graced the walls on both our homes! Thank God we both survived that fateful age! I know one of our purposes in life is to be there for each other no matter what, and I’m VERY thankful that you’ve always done that for me! Of course I’ll support your blog, too! 🙂

  2. Awesome first post! I read so many posts, I end up skimming a lot for time’s sake, but read yours from start to finish! The important thing is you just did something, if we wait all the time nothing gets done. We all constantly tweak our blogs, most important is in the content. What’s the use of having 10,000 visits a day if you aren’t content with your writing. The thought and time put behind the writing are ALWAYS the most important anyway. All the other stuff is just to work on for fun as you go.

Leave a Reply

